Las Vegas Domestic Battery Lawyer

Charged With Domestic Battery?

Domestic battery charges occur when hitting, pushing, or any other unlawful physical contact takes place between a couple, a family, or cohabitants. Like any violent crime, Nevada takes these incidents very seriously and has outlined harsh penalties for those convicted—especially for repeat offenders.

At Brown Law Offices, we understand how volatile domestic situations can become, but we also know that misunderstandings and false accusations are prevalent. We are proud to offer understanding and dedicated defense services to those accused and are dedicated to exhausting every option in seeking a reduced or dismissed charge. Domestic battery charges are too serious to leave unanswered.

Get an effective legal advocate on your side by reaching out to our skilled Nevada domestic violence attorneys today.

Penalties for Domestic Battery in Nevada

The law does show some consideration to first and second instances of domestic violence. These are considered misdemeanors and maximum sentencing is at the discretion of the judge.

Penalties for first and second domestic battery charges can include:

  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Up to 1,000 in fines
  • A maximum of 120-200 hours of community service
  • Counseling or anger management classes

In these cases, the jail time is usually limited for just a few days. However, if you are convicted of third battery charge, then these penalties increase significantly. These subsequent convictions are considered felonies and can yield up to five years in prison and fines up to $10,000.

These maximum penalties can be avoided with proper and emphatic representation. At Brown Law Offices, our criminal defense team can ensure that your side of the incident in question is asserted and this legal matter is put behind you as efficiently as possible.

Call our Las Vegas domestic violence defense firm today and schedule a free consultation.